Saturday Night Live adds Chloe Troast to the cast

Saturday Night Live (Photo by: NBCUniversal)
Saturday Night Live (Photo by: NBCUniversal) /

Saturday Night Live will have a new face in the cast when it returns for season 49. Comedian Chloe Troast has been added as a featured player.

SNL announced that the season 49 premiere will take place on October 14. Former cast member Pete Davidson is set to host with musical guest Ice Spice. That will be followed by another new episode on October 21, featuring Bad Bunny as both the host and musical guest.

Comedian Chloe Troast will be the only new addition to the cast. According to Deadline, Troast nearly earned a spot in the SNL cast for season 48 last year.

Despite being new to SNL, Troast does have some familiarity with creatives inside Studio 8H. She has collaborated with Please Don’t Destroy, the trio of SNL writers Ben Marshall, John Higgins, and Martin Herlihy known for their digital shorts.

Troast has a part in Please Don’t Destroy’s upcoming comedThe Treasure of Foggy Mountain. The film features other faces familiar to SNL including Conan O’Brien, Bowen Yang, and Michael Longfellow.

Fans may also recognize Troast as the writer/star of web series The Basics. Next, she co-stars with Kiernan Shipka in Sweethearts. Deadline reports Troast is also working on the Adult Swim Smalls series Good Service.

The rest of the Saturday Night Live cast will return

Chloe Troast joins an already loaded Saturday Night Live cast. And the good news is that no one had to leave to make room for the new addition.

Reports indicate that everyone from SNL season 48 is coming back for season 49. While a cast member could still leave midseason, similar to what Cecily Strong did last year, there won’t be any changes when Pete Davidson hits the stage for the premiere.

The current Saturday Night Live cast includes:

  • Michael Che
  • Mikey Day
  • Andrew Dismukes
  • Chloe Fineman
  • Heidi Gardner
  • James Austin Johnson
  • Punkie Johnson
  • Colin Jost
  • Ego Nwodim
  • Sarah Sherman
  • Kenan Thompson
  • Devon Walker
  • Bowen Yang