Who won Jeopardy! tonight, June 15?

"Jeopardy!" set (Photo by Amanda Edwards/Getty Images)
"Jeopardy!" set (Photo by Amanda Edwards/Getty Images) /

Jeopardy! aired another brand new episode on Wednesday night. It gave the current champion their first shot at defending their title.

Eric Ahasic’s run as Jeopardy! champion came to an end Tuesday night after six consecutive victories. The meteorologist from Minnesota proved to be a strong player after knocking off Ryan Long.

Who is the current Jeopardy! champion?

Megan Wachspress, an attorney from Berkeley, California, is the current Jeopardy! champion. She won $17,201 in her debut.

On Wednesday, she faced off against Peggy Gibbons, a legal editor from Toronto, Ontario, Canada, and Gregory Scruggs, a journalist from Seattle, Washington

Gibbons got on to an early lead after the “Jeopardy!” round with $5,400. Wachspress wasn’t too far behind with $4,800. Meanwhile, Scruggs had some catching up to do after banking $600.

Wachspress answered eight out of 10 questions correctly in the “Double Jeopardy!” round to take the lead with $11,600. Gibbons dropped to second with $5,400, followed by Scruggs in third with $1,000.

With the game wrapped up before “Final Jeopardy!” started, Wachspress could just coast. She wagered $0 despite being the only player to come up with the correct response. The attorney from Berkely remains the Jeopardy! champion with a two-day total of $28,801.

What was tonight’s Final Jeopardy! clue?

Tonight’s “Final Jeopardy!” clue was definitely challenging, as evident by the fact it stumped two players. Here it is in the category “Brands”:

Babe Didrikson Zaharias, Evan Strong & Roy Campanella broke barriers representing this brand

Mayim Bialik (ABC/Casey Durkin) /

Answer: What is Wheaties?

All three players recognized the names in the clues as athletes. Gregory Scruggs guessed Lousiville Slugger and Peggy Gibbons incorrectly wrote down Adidas as her response.

Who won Jeopardy! tonight, June 15?

To recap, here’s how Jeopardy! finished on Wednesday, June 15, 2022:

1. Megan Wachspress: $11,600
2. Peggy Gibbons: $4,400
3. Gregory Scruggs: $2

Related Story. Recapping John Oliver v. Subway. light

What did you think of tonight’s game? Leave your thoughts in the comment section below.